Troop 177's
Home Page
About Our Troop
Join Troop 177

Boy Scout Troop 177
(Seattle, Washington)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login

About Troop 177

Troop 177 has boys from Middle and High Schools throughout North East Seattle: Eckstein, Jane Addams, Hazel Wolf and Roosevelt.

We meet on Monday evenings at 6:30 p.m. Meetings last 90 minutes and include learning new scout skills or attending events or activities in the area. A typical meeting includes some brief instruction and practice on a scout skill or preparation for the next camp.

Troop 177 follows the practice of being "Boy Led", which means the meetings and activities are led directly by boys themselves (with adult leaders there for support). The boy led structure provides a unique environment to teach boys leadership and other important skills. The Troop is organized into small groups of 5-7 boys who make up each Patrol, and they elect their own leaders. The Patrol Leaders determine the Troop activities, coordinate the meetings, prepare and manage the camping trips, and even give out the awards!

During the scout year we have a monthly activity--typically an overnight camping trip somewhere in the Seattle area.  We attend 2-3 Seattle District area events per year, including Klondike Winter Camp, Spring Camporee, and Summer Camp. During meetings or camp outs the boys learn new skills and earn merit badges, and progress up to the highest rank of Eagle. Of course, not only do they learn new skills, they HAVE FUN!

Troop 177 is sponsored by Friends of Troop and Pack 177--a. neighborhood group of parents, Scouting Leaders and others who support Scouting in the area. Our Pack meets regularly at Sand Point United Methodist Church, at 4710 NE 70th St (right next to View Ridge Elementary), but locations will change depending on the meeting activity. Although the Church provides the meeting place, equipment storage, and other general support, they have no direction in the day-to-day Pack program, and all religious preferences are welcomed.



Troop Leadership:

Scoutmaster: Trent Gillespie
Committee Chair: Robert Neer
Treasurer: Erik Soloff
Volunteer Coordinator: Valerie Kaminski